Main page  



> All countries > Regions & cities of Russia > Volga (Privolzhsky) Federal District Print version


Volga Federal District




Time: Moscow Time Zone (MSK/MSD). UTC offset is +0300 (MSK)/+0400 (MSD).
Local time now

Volga (Privolzhsky) Federal District is one of the seven federal districts of Russia. It forms the southeastern part of European Russia. Its population was 31,154,744 in the 2002 census, living on an area of 1,038,000 km² (400,774 mi²). 70.7 per cent are urban residents. Mechanical engineering and metal working accounted for 30 per cent of the total district`s output, fuel industry - 22 per cent, chemical and petrochemical industry - 13 per cent, food industry and electric power industry - 9 per cent each.

Nizhny Novgorod is the center of the Federal District.

GISMETEO: Weather forecast Nizhniy-Novgorod

The largest cities are: Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Ufa, Kazan, Perm, Saratov, Togliatti, Ulyanovsk, Izhevsk, Penza. There are 191 cities altogether.
The subdivisions with republics that enjoy a high degree of autonomy on most issues and correspond to some of Russia`s ethnic minorities are the following:
Bashkortostan; Chuvashia; Kirov Oblast; Komi-Permyak autonomous area; Mari El; Mordovia; Nizhny Novgorod Oblast; Orenburg Oblast; Penza Oblast; Perm Krai; Samara Oblast; Saratov Oblast; Tatarstan; Udmurtia; Ulyanovsk Oblast

Мост, соединяющий Саратов и Энгельс

the Bridge wich connects Saratov and Engels

Памятный комплекс ракеты-носителя «Союз» в Самаре
the Memorable complex of a carrier rocket "Soyuz" in Samara

Залив в центре города Чебоксары
Gulf in city centre of Cheboksary


Interactive map of the world, all countries! On-line reservations for hotels around the world and on-line booking of air and railway tickets. A directory of travel agencies in the world. Tourism news and news agencies. Archives of news. The most complete list of phrasebooks for travel. All about Russia for tourists

Flag Counter Google+