Main page  



> All countries > Regions & cities of Russia > Northwestern Federal District Print version


Northwestern Federal District



Time: Moscow Time Zone (MSK/MSD). UTC offset is +0300 (MSK)/+0400 (MSD).

Northwestern Federal District is one of the seven federal districts of Russia. It consists of the northern part of European Russia. Its population was 13,974,466 (2002), living on an area of 1,677,900 km² (647,840.8 mi²). It is the fourth largest district in the country and occupies 9.8 per cent of the Russian territory. 81.8 per cent of the population are urban residents. Population density is 8.52 per cent which is the fourth place among other districts.

Saint Petersburg is the center of the Federal District.

GISMETEO: Weather forecast St.Petersburg

The largest cities are the following: Saint Petersburg, Kaliningrad, Murmansk, Arkhangelsk, Cherepovets, Vologda, Petrozavodsk, Severodvinsk, Novgorod, Syktyvkar. There are 152 cities altogether.
The subdivisions, with republics (that enjoy a high degree of autonomy on most issues and correspond to some of Russia`s ethnic minorities), are the following: Arkhangelsk Oblast, Nenets Autonomous Okrug, Kaliningrad Oblast (with no land connection to the rest of Russia), Republic of Karelia, Komi Republic, Leningrad Oblast, Murmansk Oblast, Novgorod Oblast, Pskov Oblast, Federal city of Saint Petersburg, Vologda Oblast


The Palace Bridge, St.-Petersburg

Medniy Vsadnik
the Copper Horseman, St.-Petersburg




Interactive map of the world, all countries! On-line reservations for hotels around the world and on-line booking of air and railway tickets. A directory of travel agencies in the world. Tourism news and news agencies. Archives of news. The most complete list of phrasebooks for travel. All about Russia for tourists

Flag Counter Google+