> All countries > Regions & cities of Russia > Urals Federal District > TYUMEN REGION (OBLAST) Print version



флагUrals Federal District
Tyumen Region






Time: Yekaterinburg Time Zone (YEKT/YEKST). UTC offset is +0500 (YEKT)/+0600 (YEKST).
Local time now:

Federal district: Urals Federal District.
Capital: Tyumen.
Main cities: Surgut, Nizhnevartovsk, Tobolsk, Nefteyugansk, Noyabrsk, Novy Urengoi, and Ishim.

Land and Resources: Tyumen Region is one of Russia`s largest regions. It has an area of 1.4 million km2 (8.4% of Russia`s total area), which is equivalent to the combined areas of Germany, France, Italy, and Great Britain. Tyumen Region occupies a large part of the West Siberian Plain and in fact divides Russia into two large territories: a western part consisting of the Urals and European Russia and an eastern, Asiatic part consisting of Siberia and the Far East. The region has a northern border on the Karsk Sea and has an extensive network of deep rivers, a large number of lakes, and an abundance of underground water, which reaches the surface in the form of springs in some places. The region`s largest rivers, the Ob and Irtysh, are navigable.
Climate: Extreme climatic conditions are characteristic of the region, since 90% of its territory belongs to Far Northern or equivalent districts.
Transportation: Tyumen is served by the international Roschino Airport with connections to a large number of Russian towns and a biweekly flight to Munich. The only reliable means of access to Khanty-Mansiysk and Salekhard is air transport.

Tyumen was the first Russian town in Siberia, founded in 1586 on the site of the Tatar town of Chimgi-Tura by Feodor I of Russia.
The town center is a mix of newer buildings combined with old log houses. The suburbs the consist of a mix of Soviet style run-down blocks combined with newer high rises and log houses.
Tyumen boasts its Drama and Comedy Theatre with its rich history and traditions, Puppet and Youth Theatre.
Most of the sights are located on the right bank of Tura river: Svyato-Troitsky Monastery, Yamskaya Sloboda; Krestovozdvizhenskaya Church; old merchants` houses/ There are also monuments of wooden architecture - old wooden houses with wonderful carving.

Tyumen Local Lore Museum
Tyumen Arts Museum
Masharov`s House-museum
History Museum (XIX-XX cc.)
Oil and Gas Museum
Archeology and Ethnography Museum
Gallery of modern art

Bridge of lovers in Tyumen
Ingalskaya Valley in the Tyumen region - participant «7 Wonders of Russia»
Monument Filofey, metropolitan Tobolsk and Tyumen in Siberia
Pedestrian area in Tyumen
Reserve «Elizarovsky» in the Tyumen region
Reserve «Kunovatsky» in the Tyumen region
Krestovozdvizhenskaya Church in Tyumen
Simeonovskaya Church in Tyumen
Spasskaya Church (The Church of the Savior) in Tyumen
Svyato-Troitsky Cathedral (The Holy Trinity Cathedral) in Tyumen
Svyato-Troitsky Monastery (The Holy Trinity Monastery) in Tyumen

Tyumen circus
Tyumen Drama and Comedy Theatre
Tyumen Puppet Theatre
Youth`s Theatre `Engagement`
Tyumen Philharmonic
Tyumen Circus
Andreevskoe Lake. Archeological museum-reserve.
Embaevo. Tatar village, mosque. Ethnographical museum of Siberian Tatars.
Pokrovskoe. Place of birth of Grigory Rasputin. Private museum.

Знаменский собор

Znamenskaya Church in Tyumen

Археологический музей-заповедник

Archeological museum-reserve

Троицкий монастырь

Svyato-Troitsky Monastery

Encarta World Atlas
http://adm.tyumen.ru - Official Site of the Administration of Tyumen Region

  See also:


All right reserved. ITC-Group, Saint-Petersbourg, Russia, 2004 г.